AINT I A HUMAN?: FERGUSON AND THE NEGLECT OF BLACK WOMEN, FEMMES, AND GIRLS; By Danielle Stevens

TRUE THAT!

This Bridge Called Our Health

black girlsWritten By Danielle Stevens

For those of us living while Black in the United States, particularly those of us who are also queer, trans, women, working class, immigrant, and/or houseless, the regularity with which we are met with dehumanization is obscene. When humanity becomes a luxury exclusively accessible to those whose skin tones are closer to white, who benefit from and are valued through the direct brutalization of my black, femme, gender non-conforming body, it becomes clear how deeply internalized anti-blackness (not racism, but anti blackness) truly is. How do I survive in a country that was built through the labor, exploitation, and extermination of my ancestors, that has always devalued my entire existence and is working overtime to actualize my death? Where is the manual on how to survive consistent direct violence toward my personhood? How do I survive when my body is under constant siege? What is the value of my…

View original post 1 341 mots de plus

Laisser un commentaire

